La Trobe
58 files

Landscape Zones of the Lake Eyre Basin

posted on 2022-01-06, 01:10 authored by Gresley Wakelin-KingGresley Wakelin-King

The dataset divides the Lake Eyre Basin into nine landscape zones, based on the elements that govern form and processes of the surface waters. They are: Uplands, Rocky Fringe, Western Rivers, Northern Plains, Central Plains, Channel Country-Vertic Downs, Channel Country-Stony Domes, Lakes & Dunes, Mega-lakes.

This dataset is described in Gresley A. Wakelin-King (2022) Landscapes of the Lake Eyre Basin: the catchment-scale context that creates fluvial diversity, Transactions of the Royal Society of South Australia, 146:1, 109-167, DOI: 10.1080/03721426.2021.2003514. The paper provides the first integrated overview of the Lake Eyre Basin's geomorphology, and is the first whole-of-catchment description of any of its rivers. The information is intended to support the work of land managers and ecologists, by providing a process-based look at the landscapes that support habitat. The landscape zones are designed to be compatible with the regional context stage of a River Styles analysis.

Dataset citation: Wakelin-King, Gresley A., 2021. Lake Eyre Basin Landscape Zones (digital datset). Wakelin Associates, Melbourne. DOI 10.26181/616cc5686abd5



  • School of Life Sciences

Publication Date


Rights Statement

© 2021 Gresley Wakelin-King This dataset is open access distributed under the terms and conditions of the Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY) license (